John Anderson

John Anderson ( 1956 – ) Former Deputy Prime Minister
John Anderson as a politician of deep Christian conviction and integrity, served Australia faithfully in the House of Representatives from 1989 as the National Party member for Gwydir.  He was a Howard government minister and Deputy Prime Minister from 1999 until his resignation in June 2005.

“Former National Party leader John Anderson on why the public should get a vote on same-sex marriage. For one, Parliament has lost its moral authority to make such a profound change”. Listen, because it’s now rare to hear such an adult contribution to the debate. ***https://youtu.be/VZ4mj_ct-OE

“I didn’t come from a church-going family but when I was a teenager I had a teacher at school who was in my opinion a man’s man, someone whom I liked and respected and someone who was a Christian and I asked him one night what he believed and why. I came away convinced of the truth of the gospel. To be honest I backslid pretty quickly from that initial conversion, but at university I was studying the history of our culture and I came to the view that secular humanism is not just empty, its actually frighteningly empty. When you look at what mankind has done, they’ve tried without God or deliberately excluding God to create a perfect society on earth according to their view. The results have been horrendous and disastrous and I felt that I could not live without a relationship, without knowing who was in control, without there being anyone in control, so I felt that I had to return to my faith. The most outstanding example, of course, is the horrors when we try to create what we think is a perfect society on Earth. The Second World War was secular humanism at its worst. Fascism said there is no God, we’re not accountable to anybody higher, we’ll try and create what they said the Third Reich was and by the way we will just slaughter millions and millions and in fact it ended up being 60 million people on the way through. Man without God to me is a terrifying prospect, personally and collectively”.
http://www.changinglives.org.au/component/k2/item/317-john-anderson-interview.html

“I’ve often thought to myself, it’s awful when tragedy strikes ” like in my case, my sister’s death ” but there’s no doubt it’s often through deep personal suffering and trauma that you’re brought to your senses and made to realise that you need answers to life. It’s not enough just to say we’re some sort of glorified ape wandering through life on a planet out of control. So in that sense it probably saved me from myself.”
http://sydneyanglicans.net/blogs/books/faith_duty_the_john_anderson_story

Former Deputy Prime Minister-John Anderson Conversion Story, Part 1, 2 & 3
1 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-kcGOLC0geg
2 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JeUUpEnT3_A
3 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ukclWPvECYI

Mr Anderson challenged the Christian media to recognise what some secular writers already have. “Just as our economic success and our democratic freedoms had their origins in belief systems, it’s the collapse of those belief systems, the abandonment of them, even the mocking of them, that is proving to be our undoing. In other words, we’re a Christian society. That’s where our freedoms came from.”
https://vision.org.au/radio/2015/08/03/john-anderson-getting-us-back-on-track/

John Anderson – Wikipedia
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Anderson_(Australian_politician)

______________________________
Leave a Reply, comments are welcome.

This entry was posted in Biographies of living persons, Christians. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

